Our People

At Tauranga Boys’ College, we are proud to have some of New Zealand’s finest educators. Tauranga Boys’ College employs more than 200 full and part-time staff, including teachers, administration, grounds and maintenance staff.

Senior Executive

A TurnerAndrew Turner

Principal [email protected]

21stuartIan Stuart

Associate Principal [email protected]

21watsonLeyton Watson

Deputy Principal, Learning & Achievement - Junior School [email protected]

21gilbert2Rob Gilbert

Deputy Principal, Learning & Achievement - Senior School [email protected]

Senior Leadership Team

Amanda IbbitsonAmanda Ibbitson

Assistant Principal, Principal’s Nominee, NZQA [email protected]

21howardNeil Howard

Assistant Principal, Teacher Systems & Support [email protected]

21fry2Nathan Fry

Assistant Principal, Pedagogy [email protected]    

21merritWayne Merritt

Assistant Principal, Human Resources & Property [email protected]

21akermanMichael Akkerman

Assistant Principal, Student Management [email protected]

Key Staff

Principal's Executive AssistantJanine Goldthorpe [email protected]
Business ManagerLorna McGregor[email protected]

Kaitohu Aronui - Director of Aronui

Te Pou Whakarae - Leader of Te Ao Māori

Jo'el Komene

[email protected] 

Director of International

Annette Roff

[email protected] 

Director of Sport

Darrell Boyd

[email protected] 


Jo Wallace-Boyd

[email protected] 

Transition / PathwaysTom Collin[email protected]

Director of ArtsJohn Page[email protected]


Leaders of Faculty


Aaron Wright

[email protected] 


Cameron Hays

[email protected]


Katrina Larsen

[email protected] 


Phil Adams

[email protected]  

Inquiry Learning

Andrew Corney

[email protected] 

Languages (acting)

Carl Bidois

[email protected] 

Learning Support

Rachelle Stratton

[email protected]


Damien Galvan

[email protected]

Physical Education

Grant Marshall

[email protected] 


Nigel Burling

[email protected] 


Nathan Bradley

[email protected] 




2023 Academic Tutors

Year 9

Dylan Jackson

[email protected] 

Year 10

Vicky Lacey

[email protected]

Year 11

Vicky Lacey

[email protected]

Year 12

Charles Williams

[email protected]

Year 13

Aaron Leech[email protected]


Brent Salmon

[email protected] 

InternationalDanielle Wilson[email protected]

2023 Deans

Associate DeanBen Ormsby[email protected]
Year 9Dan Anson[email protected]
Year 10Alex Bryant[email protected]

Year 11

Hamish Boyce

[email protected]

Year 12

Richard Apanui[email protected]

Year 13

Adam Garner

[email protected] 

 Click HERE for full teacher contact list